My First iPod, WOW What an Experience


a bunch of iPods

The company I worked for at the time was giving away iPods as a raffle prize and it got me interested in what they were. I had exclusively used CD’s and my discman to listen to music with at the time. I did a little research and tried one out somewhere and ended up buying one at the Circuit City in Laurel, MD for around $350 nearly 10 years ago today. That same Circuit City location is now a restaurant called “Old Line Fine Wine, Spirits & Bistro” that still has the same red Circuit City plug looking entrance.

Anyway, the iPod I purchased was a 20GB 4th generation click wheel model with a black and white screen. I brought it home, hooked it into my computer and loaded it up with songs from my CD’s one by one. It took me days to finally get all my music on it but afterwards I just sat there holding it and skipping through songs and was amazed. It changed the way I listened to music. The thought of having thousands of songs in my hands was mind-boggling. It instantly rendered my CD collection nearly worthless and I say nearly because they would be good backups in case my iPod hard drive crashed which it did.

I think it had lasted me about 3 years before the hard drive crashed and I bought a new one that still works to this day. These days though I only use my iPhone for listening to music. Who needs two seperate devices when you can just have one? The iPod is an iconic piece of technology that will go down in history books. It was the Walkman on the Millennials and changed the way we purchased and listened to music.

Leave a Reply

